Beaufort County School District names Teachers of the Year

Beaufort County School District names Teachers of the Year

Congratulations to the Beaufort County School District’s Teachers of the Year. School Teachers of the Year are selected by their peers according to criteria established by the schools, the South Carolina Department of Education and the district’s Teacher Forum. Next fall, the teachers honored today will be eligible for District Teacher of the Year honors.

Support staff also are selected by school staff and can include social workers, school nurses, bookkeepers, office managers, teacher assistants, school secretaries and technology and data specialists.

“The thing that makes these recognitions so special is that the people we’re honoring today have been singled out by their peers,” said Board of Education Chairman Bill Evans. “I know that our Board members look forward to this day each and every year.”

Here is the list of fine educators from each of our local schools, north of the Broad River.

Battery Creek High School:
Willie Ortiz, Pamela Darden

Beaufort Elementary School:
Cely Johnson, Jennifer Slade

Beaufort High School:
Bradley Smith, John Walker

Beaufort Middle School:
Bryanna Dennewitz, Karen Plair

Broad River Elementary School:
Geneva Young, Amy Vinson

Coosa Elementary School:
Rolanda Gilliard, Michelle Edgell

Joseph S. Shanklin Elementary School:
Michelle Krob, Donna Hammond

Lady’s Island Elementary School:
Brianne Christman, Denise Shuford

Lady’s Island Middle School:
Portia Johnson, Cori Talbert

Michael C. Riley Elementary ECC:
Amy Fleury, Tammy Smith

Mossy Oaks Elementary School:
Nancy Altman, Derek Johnson

Port Royal Elementary School:
Amanda Kata, Kristen Burgess

Robert Smalls International Academy:
Donna Martin, Julia Jaramillo

St. Helena Elementary School:
Michelle Thomas, Sherry Heyward

Whale Branch Early College High School:
Feronica Hamilton, Emanuel Wheeler

Whale Branch Elementary School, Davis ECC:
Renette Oliver, Elnora Marcano

Whale Branch Middle School:
Felicia English, Sharon Williams